BTKA USA Internal


While external Kung Fu focuses on muscle strength, flexibility and speed, internal Kung Fu emphasizes concentration, internal organ strength and the movement of energy (called Qi [“chee”] in Mandarin) through the body. A true knowledge of Kung Fu cannot be attained without the study of both internal and external components.

Though many people tend to think of Tai Chi as a single art, there are actually several different styles of Tai Chi, each style having its own unique characteristics and many different forms. The Beijing Tai Chi & Kung Fu Academy offers instruction in all five classical styles of Tai Chi in addition to advanced styles such as Sun, Wu, Hao, and a rare style known as Small Frame Yang.

Yang Style Tai Chi Quan Group Class

Yang Style Tai Chi was originally developed by Yang Lu Chan. Today, it is the most popular style of Tai Chi, especially outside of China. In comparison to Chen Style, Yang Style is more health oriented. Its movements are slow and soft, and its forms resemble a graceful dance. In order to let Qi move freely in the body without stagnation, the body must be relaxed, and the movements must be soft. By studying Yang Style Tai Chi, students will start to understand the essence of Tai Chi, gain confidence, and deeply cultivate their Internal energy.

While the BTKA Tai Chi curriculum consists of Yang Style, we also teach Chen, Sun, Wu and Hao as Special Programs.

The Yang Style Tai Chi Certificate Series teaches:
1. Yang Eight Movements Form
2. Yang Twenty-Four Movements Form
3. Yang Forty Movements Form
4. Yang Fight Set
5. Yang Thrity-Two Movements Sword Form
6. Yang Thirteen Sabre Form

Xing Yi Quan Special Interest Class

Xing Yi Quan is an internal style and was created by Ji Jike (1620-1680) from Zuencun village of Yongji County in Shangxi province. Xing Yi Quan emphasizes using one’s mind to focus one’s intent. Xing Yi is based upon generating internal power, yet its speed is faster than other internal arts, and its strikes and kicks are directed towards combat. Many early Xing Yi practitioners were bodyguards. Xing Yi’s principles hold that the body’s-actions and movements should be guided by the mind. It stresses the harmony between mind, will, breathing, strength, and limbs. The three most common styles of Xing Yi are He Bei, Shang Xi, and He Nan; at BTKA, we teach the He Bei Shang Yun Xiang style of Xing Yi.

The Xing Yi Quan Certificate Series teaches:
1. Xing Yi Five Elements & Eight Movements Forms
2. Xing Yi Twelve Animals Forms
3. Xing Yi An Shen Pao Fighting Set
4. Xing Yi San Shou (Xing Yi Application)
5. Xing Yi Five Elements Sabre Form
6. Xing Yi Five Elements Staff Form

Ba Gua Zhang Special Interest Class

The Ba Gua Zhang Certificate Series teaches:
1. Eight Palm Form (Sections 1-4)
2. Eight Palm Form (Sections 5-8)
3. Ba Gua Fighting Set (Section 1-8)
4. Ba Gua Sanshou (Ba Gua Application)
5. Ba Gua Sword Form
6. Ba Gua Double Deer Knives Form

Chen Style Tai Chi Quan Special Interest Class

Chen Style Tai Chi is a unique style. It seems like an external art because it contains elements of an external style such as high jumps, fast kicks, and sudden punches. Its characteristics are: hard and soft, fast and slow. Chen Style Tai Chi has great internal power and involves detailed, reeling movements. It has low stances and high postures. Chen Style is both beautiful and challenging. Please note that there is no Certificate program offered for Chen Style Tai Chi.

The Chen Style Tai Chi Quan Series teaches:
1. Chen Style Routine One (Movements 1-30)
2. Chen Style Routine One (Movements 31-57)
3. Chen Style Routine One (Movements 58-83)